My Weight Watchers Journey

Standard

I’m venturing off the writing prompt path this morning. I don’t care for Day Twenty so I’m skipping it completely. This is my writing challenge and I can do whatever I want, right?!

When I met Chip in 2013, I weighed around 140. Honestly, for my height and build, 140 is not the ideal weight, but it fell in the normal BMI range and I was in pretty good shape. I ran daily and worked out several times a week. I thought I was overweight! HA.

When Chip and I got married, I had let myself gain to about 160. I had started birth control and was pretty much just happy with life.

When I got pregnant with Morgan, I weighed 170. I could tell that the pattern was continuing and if I wasn’t careful, I’d end up gaining way too much pregnancy weight.

Well, I wasn’t careful. I ate bean burritos almost every day. It was the only thing that sounded good. I paid no mind to what I was feeding my body and the number on the scale kept rising and rising and rising. And I didn’t really care.

The day I went in to have Morgan, I weight 245 pounds. A week later, when I left the hospital, I weighed 215. I told myself I’d start eating better and I’d lose a pound a week. That didn’t happen. Habits are hard to break and I’d spent the last couple years mindlessly eating whatever I wanted and putting forth very little physical activity.

When Morgan turned one, I had lost only 11 pounds. I weighed 204 pounds! What had happened to one pound a week?!?!?!?!?! I’d been watching my mom lose weight successfully with Weight Watchers for a few months so I decided to give it a try in November of 2016. I didn’t have very high hopes because I’d tried several other shakes, pills, wraps, and plans the first year of Morgan’s life and hadn’t been successful. All I can say it that in the first couple weeks I lost six pounds and I was hooked. I was eating healthy, not starving, and the weight was falling off. I didn’t have to remember to take a pill at a certain time, I didn’t have to make those nasty shakes every morning – all I had to do was eat healthy.

I have now been following the WW plan for four and half months and I’ve lost 35 pounds and KEPT IT OFF. I have totally changed the way I eat. My husband has even lost quite a bit of weight!! I changed the way I make dinner, my grocery lists look different now, and I never feel deprived.

I have a long, long way to go yet. According to the BMI chart, I’m still in the obese range, but I know that I’ve come a long way since November of last year and that if I continue to live this healthy lifestyle, the pounds will continue to come off and eventually I’ll be in that normal BMI range again. OH – and hopefully I’ll get back to only having ONE chin. HAHA

I can’t believe I’m actually putting my weight out here for everyone to read, but I’m doing it because I want people to know that WW is the best thing that ever happened to me and that if it works for me, it can work for anyone!!!!!

XOXO – Rachel

Leave a Reply

