Day Nine

Standard

Day Nine: post some words of wisdom that speak to you.

Several years ago -probably seven or so – one of my favorite ladies said something to me that spoke volumes. Lynda Langland was a gem. She didn’t sugarcoat anything. She told you like it was and she meant business. Everything she did, though, was done out of the kindness of her heart and with good intention. I loved Lynda so much!

One day, we were sitting around the table talking about life. I don’t remember many of the specifics or who we were even talking about (heck, it might have been me), but she told me that every single person, no matter what, has redemptive quality. I wasn’t sure what she meant by this so she went on to tell me that no matter where a person had been, or what they had done, there would always be enough grace to go around. Sometimes it’s hard to look at the people we label the “worst-of-the-worst” and see any good in them. To this day, Lynda’s words play over and over in my mind when I’m faced with a situation where I don’t want to forgive or I don’t want to show grace. Even when someone has hurt me at my core, I must make a conscious effort to forgive. I’m not always great at giving grace, but Lynda’s words are a constant reminder for me to see the good in people, even the ones who, by man’s measure, don’t deserve it. Forgive. Show grace.

I love you, Lynda, and miss you all the time.

Leave a Reply

