Day Four

Standard

Day Four: write about someone who inspires you.

My aunt Roxanne was probably the best person I’ve ever known. If she knew you, she loved you. She saw the best in every person she met and she would do her best to make you believe in what she saw in you! She had the best advice. I could call her about anything and she would have solid, sound advice. I remember one time I went on a first date with a guy I’d met at a football game. I told her where I was going, gave her the address, told her the agenda for the evening, just in case. Well, about 20 minutes into the date, I just knew I was not liking this guy. I casually checked my phone and sent my aunt a text that said I needed her to call me and get me out of the date. About ten minutes later, my phone was ringing. She told me that she was taking my grandma to the hospital because she was sick and she even fake cried a little. HAHA. I told the date that I needed to leave right away, my grandmother was sick. He walked me to my car and I haven’t seen him since. I called my aunt a few miles down the road and we just laughed. Gosh, I miss her. I called her on sad days, on happy days, with bad news, or good news. At her funeral, someone said that if Roxanne didn’t love you, it was because she hadn’t met you yet. She was one of a kind.

Even though my aunt is in Heaven today, she continues to inspire me regularly. There are moments when I think to myself, “What would Aunt Rox have done in this situation?” or “What advice would she give me if I could call her right now?” Her legacy lives on in the hearts of so many people. I miss the times we’d get our nails done together and then go for lunch. She always gave me her undivided attention, and made me feel like the most important person in her world while we were together. She made everyone feel special. And her laugh. It was the best. Sometimes we’d sit at the piano and sing old hymns together. Her voice was beautiful. I miss her so much.

If I can be half the aunt she was to me, I think I’ll be doing alright. I love you, Aunt Roxanne. Thank you for making me want to be better.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Leave a Reply

