Day Two

Standard

Day Two: write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot.

The first thing that comes to mind when I read this prompt was the time a boy  named Joey from south Texas told me I had the hairiest arms he’d ever seen in his entire life. For some reason, though, I don’t feel like that’s what the prompt is asking for. Who knows.

The second thing that came to my mind were the words that one of my best friends told me in 2011. The year 2011 was a doozy for me. I turned 25. Left my boyfriend of five years. There were a lot of really crappy things that happened that year, but in the end, they all turned out to be blessings in disguise. In the moment, though, nothing felt right. Nothing felt in place. I was out of sorts. I remember feeling like the world was closing in around me. I called my friend, Jen, and told her everything that was going on. Jen and I met in Dallas, Texas, the year after I finished high school and we were the best of friends from the moment we met. We were 18 year old spoiled brats. I laugh sometimes when I think back to that time in our lives. No husband. No kids. No agenda. Life was easy! Now we are both wives and mommas. We don’t talk as often as we used to, but Jen will always be one of the best friends in all the world. Anyway, in 2011, I called Jen and told her what was going on. She assured me all would be okay and for a moment, I felt like she was right. Later that day, or maybe the next day even, I got a message from Jen and her husband. I have it saved to my phone and even emailed it to myself so I’d have it always. This is what it said:

     Rachel Cantwell, you are a beautiful woman with so much to offer. You are the wife of an appreciative, caring, loving, and sacrificial husband and the mother to honoring, obedient children. This is what God has in store for you. You are worth more than you think, to yourself and to others. Know that your Father would never let you settle for anything less than the best.

Jen and Josh spoke this into my life at a time when I truly felt like I had nothing to offer. I felt empty and like my future was bleak. Honestly, at the time, I really didn’t have much to give, but they saw the potential in me and knew that with hard work and perseverance, I’d make it out of the incredibly dark valley I was walking through. And I did.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

