Day One

Standard

Writing has always been an outlet that I’ve used when my words didn’t have a home anywhere except for paper. There have been many times when what I needed to say couldn’t be said out loud so putting pen to paper, or fingers to keys, was the only way I could release my thoughts. Before I was married and had a kid, I wrote almost daily. I usually wrote before going to bed, clearing my mind of all the thoughts from that day. Now that I’m a mom, I find myself going to bed shortly after my daughter has fallen asleep because I lack the energy to even turn on my computer screen.

I’ve noticed a few friends on Facebook have been participating in a 30 day writing challenge. I’ve been wanting to join the challenge but finding the time has been an issue. I’ve had a sick baby, a dirty house, a hungry husband, and lessons to plan, so writing for fun hasn’t really been an option. That being said, I’m going to try to make time to write at least 30 times in the next couple months. HAHA. I can’t fully commit to writing for 30 consecutive days because, let’s be real, I don’t have that kind of time. The challenge consists of 30 writing prompts for 30 days. I’ve read over the prompts. Some are funny. Some are trifling. Some will make me uncomfortable. Follow along if you like. Here’s to Day One.

Day One: list ten things that make you really happy

  1. Sunday dinner at my parents’ house
  2. The first morning of spring
  3. A three (or four) day weekend
  4. A Saturday with no agenda
  5. A moon on the rise
  6. Summer
  7. Music in the park
  8. Heading off to nowhere in particular
  9. Watching fireworks
  10. Camping

See you on Day Two, whenever that might be.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

