Happy Happy Happy

Standard

Over Christmas break, I started reading a book called One Thousand Gifts that my bff, Christin, gave to me as a gift. Long story short, it is an amazing book that has challenged me to dig deep and focus on the things, big and small, that make me happy. And I’m not just talking about the obvious things. This book has challenged me to take what might be a crummy situation and force myself to find at least one thing within these circumstances that I can still be happy or positive about. For instance, I’m not at my goal weight for my wedding but I’m marrying my best friend and he loves me regardless and that makes me happy. 🙂 So, today I leave you with a list and a challenge….a list of a few things, big and small alike, that make me happy and a challenge to stop and smell the roses. To look past the thorns and see the beauty in all of God’s marvelous creations.

Things that make me happy:

1. writing with a Sharpie marker

2. my avacado masher

3. my KitchenAid stand mixer

4. watching The Bachelor

5. fishing

6. kissing

7. cooking/baking

8. flea markets with my bff

9. breakfast on Saturdays

10. my best friend, Christin

11. summer

12. road trips

13. all the junk I’ve collected from flea markets

14. cows

15. the smell of a horse barn

16. bonfires

17. scarves

18. longsleeve shirts and shorts kinda weather

19. watching my fiance rope

20. seeing my niece smile

21. hearing my nephew say, “I am a robot” in the most hilarious robot voice

22. when my brother sends me jokes

23. my wedding ring

24. harmony in a song

25. sunflower seeds

AND so many more. Take some time today find something that really makes you happy. It might be hard at first, but I’ve found that when I’m in that state of mind, looking for the good in everything, it gets easier and you are left feeling happier than if you are constantly looking at the negative in the things/people around you.

Leave a Reply

