Beautiful Exchange

Standard

I’ve posted a video to the song Beautiful Exchange by Hillsong. If you have a few minutes, before you continue reading, listen to this song or just listen as you read.

My middle brother and I don’t go hardly a day without sending each other funny pictures or jokes through text messaging. We are constantly trying to one up with each other. Sometimes, though, we’ll run across a YouTube video or picture that tugs on our heart strings and we pass those along, too. When it’s all said and done, my brother and I are softies!! Last week, my brother sent me the link to a video on YouTube called “There Is No Perfect Father.” I got to work about ten minutes early on that particular morning so I thought I’d watch it before my students started filing in. That was a mistake!! The video made me cry harder than I have in a while!

The video was about a deaf father and his teenage daughter. The father loved his daughter very much and always tried to show her in different ways just how much he loved her. She was a typical teenager and asked that her dad drop her off far from the door at school but she was even more embarrassed of her dad than most teenagers because he was deaf. He would buy flowers for her and she would throw them away. He had a cake made for her birthday but she never showed up at dinner to eat it. No matter how hard he tried to show her his love, she continued to deny him and push him away. She became depressed and more ashamed of her dad and one night, tried to take her own life. When her father found her, she scooped her up in his arms and ran to the street, trying to motion for help. When the ambulance got her to the hospital, the deaf father was desperate for the doctors to save his daughters life and in his desperation was trying his hardest to tell the doctors to do whatever it took to save her life. He was crying and signing for them to please save her. They could take his house and his money, whatever it took, he just wanted them to save her life. When the translators spoke to him, they let him know that the only way she would live was if she received blood and organs from a donor. In the next scene, you see a heart monitor go blank indicating that someone had died. I sat in my chair, crying, thinking for sure that the doctors had not been able to save the daughter’s life. But in the next scene, it showed the father lying in a hospital bed, lifeless, with the daughter lying in a bed next to him, alive and well. You see, the father knew there was only one way his daughter would be able to live and that was to give up his own life. Even though she had denied him so many times, he still chose to give up his life for her’s. Even though he had tried over and over to shower her with love and she had turned her back on him, embarrassed of him even, when the only thing that would save her life was for him to give up his own, he gave his life without question. What a beautiful exchange.

As I watched this video, all I could think of was how our Heavenly Father gave up his life so that we could live. I’ve been listening to the song Beautiful Exchange over and over the last week or so and I can’t listen to it without it totally shaking me up. I mean, just read the lyrics to this song and try to not be moved to tears:

You were near, Though I was distant
Disillusioned I was lost and insecure

Still mercy fought, For my attention
You were waiting at the door, Then I let You in

Trading Your life, For my offenses
For my redemption, You carried all the blame

Breaking the curse, Of our condition
Perfection took our place

When only love
Could make a way
You gave Your life
In a beautiful exchange

My burdens erased, my life forgiven
There is nothing, that could take this love away

My only desire, and sole ambition
Is to love You just the same

When only love
Could make a way
You gave Your life
In a beautiful exchange

How many times have I denied The Father’s love and turned my back on Him? Yet He is always there waiting to love me just the same. He knew I would not be a perfect person but chose to die for me anyway. There is no greater love. There could never be a more beautiful exchange than the one where Jesus laid down his own life knowing that it was the only way we would live. And for that gift of life I will forever be grateful.

Leave a Reply

