Dancing In The Rain

Standard

Psalm 34: 1-3 “I will praise the Lord at all times.I will constantly speak his praises.I will boast only in the Lord;let all who are helpless take heart.Come, let us tell of the Lord’s greatness;let us exalt his name together.”

If I could be like any person I’ve ever known, it would be my aunt Roxanne. Her love for life and people, her tenacity, and her ability to face life head on are all qualities that I admired about her. She rarely had a bad day and if she did, it didn’t take long for her to remember the many blessings surrounding her and that is what drove her to be one of the happiest people I ever knew. Even on a “bad day” she still flashed that beautiful smile and had contagious laughter. Gosh, I miss that lady!! As I read through Psalm 34 this morning, I was reminded of her tenacious outlook on life, even up until the last breath she took. She was a fighter because she was one of the rare people that always saw the good in people and life, no matter the circumstance or situation. Psalm 34:1-3 talks about praising the Lord at ALL times, not just on the good days or when life is going our way. “I will constantly speak his praises.” While my aunt was battling cancer, even on the really hard days where she could barely lift her head, her motto for life was this: Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass–it’s about learning to dance in the rain. And she did a lot of dancing in the rain.

My devotions this morning talked about how a lot of times we identify blessings with “getting the goods” in one way or another. We thank God for health, a comfortable lifestyle, a good reputation, a relatively trouble-free family life, and national security. And in doing so, we rightly acknowledge our dependence on Him–but this may lead us to associate God’s blessings exclusively with EXTERNAL evidence. When we do that, we miss the whole point: We suffer undeservedly BUT in our suffering we can glorify God and receive His blessing.

So today, do a little dancing in the rain. Don’t wait for the storm to pass.

I love you, Aunt Rox, and I miss you so much!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

