…..but I love you.

Standard

I’ve never met you…..but I love you.

I’ve never seen your face anywhere except my mind…….but I love you.

I’ve never felt your arms around me, I’ve only imagined how it must feel…..but I love you.

I’ve never caught you smiling at me across the room……but I love you.

I’ve never heard you laughing at my corny jokes that no one else finds funny….but I love you.

I’ve never watched you praying with our babies before they go to sleep at night….but I love you.

I’ve never felt you roll over at night and wake me up just to whisper that you’re glad God gave me to you…..but I love you.

I’ve never held your hand while driving aimlessly on back roads, sipping on sweet tea, windows down, breeze blowing my hair……but I love you.

I’ve never watched you teach our babies to saddle a horse or how to ride….but I love you.

I’ve never watched you as you rolled your sleeves up, bent down and took our little girl’s face in your hands and told her that she’s your princess……but I love you.

I’ve never heard you telling our son to watch the ball and let it connect with the bat……but I love you.

I’ve never felt your lips on mine…..but I love you.

I’ve never seen you broken and vulnerable at the news of heartbreak……but I love you.

I’ve never heard you tell me that my cookin’ is the best thing you’ve ever eaten in your whole life……but I love you.

I’ve never seen injustice move your heart to make a change….but I love you.

I’ve never even had a first date with you……but I love you.

I’ve never shared my dreams or secrets with you and I’ve never heard yours….but I love you.

Though I’ve never laid eyes on you, my sweet, tenderhearted, hard working, husband……I love you. I love that God made you just for me. I know when he was forming you in your mother’s womb, He knew you’d grow to be a dark headed man that loved cows as much as I do. As silly as that sounds to anyone else, I just know it’s true. I don’t always love the waiting part, but I know that when God brings you to me, I will finally be able to give you my love. It isn’t always easy loving you from a distance, but knowing that God is a God of perfect timing makes this wait worth it. There have been times when I could’ve settled for someone that wasn’t you but each time, your face flashed across my mind and though I’ve never met you, I know you are real and I will wait for you, my love.

I don’t know where you are tonight. I don’t know what you’re doing, but I imagine you’re sitting on a porch swing, a drink in one hand and your other around a dog. I don’t know even know what your name is…….but I know I love you and I can’t wait to tell you just how much.

Psalm 37:4 Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Leave a Reply

