The Valentine’s Day Teacher: Part Four

Standard

I know I said I was probably done writing about The Valentine’s Day Teacher, but I make the rules when it comes to my writing, so I can break them if I want. And I want to. So that’s what I’m doing.

I honestly can’t believe it’s been over a year since the first time I laid eyes on him. But what weighs even heavier on my heart is thinking back to this exact time a year ago. I knew my time was limited with my aunt. She was getting worse instead of better and to say that I was a mess is an understatement. I remember sitting in my Methods of Teaching Geometry class, my mind swimming with thoughts of how I’d ever live without hearing my aunt’s voice again and wondering who I’d call on days when I just needed to hear her say, “I love you, sweetie.” Thinking back to a year ago, had it not been for The Teacher, I really don’t know how I would’ve survived such a dark time of my life. I remember calling him one April morning and telling him that Aunt Roxanne had taken a turn for the worse overnight and he didn’t even miss a beat. He immediately got on the phone with the right people and within minutes, was letting me know that he would fill in for my mom (he has his principal certification) so that she could make it to the hospital to be with her sister. He was so thoughtful and made that really hard time of my life a bit more tolerable. If I wanted to sit and cry, he let me. And if I wanted to get in the car and just drive, we did that. I know that each year around this time, not only will I remember the last days I had with my aunt, but I will always think of the ways that The Teacher’s love pulled me through such an incredibly painful time.

I’m incredibly proud of The Teacher. He just got a principal position a couple hours away and I know that he has worked so hard to get where he’s at now. He’s climbing the ladder and I know this is just a stepping stone that will lead to even greater things for him. He’s a hard worker and that shows in everything he puts his hands to. He’s determined. I couldn’t be more proud. I just wish I could tell him how proud I am. But that door is closed and I’ll have to be proud from the other side of the door.

Leave a Reply

