In It, Not Of It

Standard

First of all, I’m having chest pain as I type. It could be heartburn from the chili I made earlier, cause ya’ll know I like to spice it up. Or it could just be from me getting all worked up over something I read on Facebook earlier this evening. Either way, I’m a tad bit uncomfortable and I hope this isn’t any sign of how the rest of my night is going to go. I need to be able to catch some serious Zzzzzz’s here in a little bit.

Anyway. Speaking of what I read on Facebook a few hours ago….it really got my blood pumping and I got kind of worked up over it and had to cool myself down (with some ice cream slathered on my pecan pie). As I was scrolling through everyone’s statuses, I came across one that really disturbed me. I won’t go in to a lot of detail because I have no idea who reads these blogs and I don’t want to offend anyone but let me give you a little sneak peak in to what this person had to say. It went a little bit like this (and I’m toning it down): “if you don’t love Jesus, if you cuss, if you put anything bad on Facebook, do me a favor and delete me off your friends list because I’m offended.” Come again….say wha?!?!? First of all, let me just say that I do see the point this person is trying to make. But for real, people. If this is your mentality, you’ve got it all wrong. Haven’t ya’ll read the verses in the Bible that talk about Jesus Christ himself associating with sinners? I’m not saying we have to conform to sinful ways, but hello, it is our DUTY as Christians to show the love of Christ to those who don’t know Him. And if someone on Facebook is writing things that you don’t agree with, I highly doubt that by you getting on there and calling them out about it is going to make a dang bit a difference. And here’s some food for thought: instead of calling them out on your status, why don’t YOU start posting something that shows them the love of Christ? Why don’t you put an encouraging verse or quote as your status and start changing the atmosphere of Facebook for yourself? And furthermore, if their negative status updates really offend you that much, then hide them. Oh and one more thing: if a cuss word is causing such an uproar in your life, I’d hate to see you try to function in the real world outside the sheltered bubble that you live in. Jesus called us to be IN THE WORLD,  but not of it.

My pastor made an interesting point a few Sundays ago. He was talking to the teenagers and he asked them, “If Jesus walked into a basketball game at your school, which crowd of people do you think he’d sit with?” Well, naturally we all kind of assume we’d find Jesus kickin’ it old school style with the Christians. But you know what? We’re wrong. Jesus would more than likely walk in to the game, throw the peace sign to the Christian kids and he’d make his way straight to the crowd of non-Christian kids. Wanna know why? Cause that’s who needs Him the most. All of us Christians, we’re a bunch of stuck up idiots most of the time and I, for one, am sick and tired of it. How in the heck do we except anyone to know the love of Christ if we aren’t willing to share it through our actions and words and lifestyle?? Let’s just be real, you guys. I have something like 385 people on my friends list on Facebook and I can promise you that there are people who post things that have cuss words in them and things that don’t comply with what most Christians think is right. But guess what? You won’t see me asking them to delete me and I certainly won’t delete them because it is my mission in life to make sure that everyone around me knows the Jesus that I know. I’m not going to shove it down anyone’s throat and I won’t look down on anyone who doesn’t choose to live exactly the way that I do. It isn’t my place to judge. All I know is that grace has been shown to me in moments that I never ever deserved it by a Man that lived a sinless life and died so that I could be forgiven. So who am I, who are we as Christians, to ask someone to delete us off Facebook or ask them to step out of our lives just because they don’t have Jesus Christ hash tagged in every status update? And quite frankly, if you feel like a cuss word in a status update is going to make you stumble or waver in your relationship with Christ, you may want to reevaluate where you stand.  Anyway. Rant over. And I leave you with this:

Colossians 4:6 Make the most of every opportunity. Be gracious in your speech. The goal is to bring out the best in others in a conversation, not put them down, not cut them out.

One response »

Leave a Reply

