My Song

Standard

I love to sing. Music plays so many roles in my life. When I exercise, I like to have something upbeat playing that will keep me motivated to work out. When I’m getting ready for work every morning, I have Pandora set to a Kari Jobe station. When I’m driving, I typically have my iPod set to shuffle on my country playlist. Or when John is in the car with me, it’s always, always Miranda Lambert or Rascal Flatts.

I think every person, whether you can actually carry a tune in a bucket or not, was born with a song inside of them. I know I was, anyway. And there have been a lot of times I’ve tried to sing that song for the wrong people. I was driving down the road the other day, the radio was completely off for some reason (very rare occurrence) and I just started humming my own song. It made me think. How many times have I opened up to someone and tried to sing them my song only to have it fall on deaf ears? You know that feeling you get when you hear a song that you feel was written just for you? Whether it be the music itself or just the lyrics, it was written for you. Then there are songs that make you change the radio station the second you hear it. I feel like a lot of times, I’ve opened my heart, or my mouth so to speak, to sing my song, but whoever was standing in front of me, whoever I was trusting with my song, changed the station without allowing it to get to the good part. Does that even make sense? I’ve got this song inside of me that I’ve been singing for all the wrong people and as I was driving home the other night, in silence, it dawned on me: I don’t want to be the type of person that will sing my song for just anyone. I don’t even know if this makes a lick of sense to anyone except me. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I know God designed me for a specific reason, for a specific person, for a specific time, for a very specific plan and I’ve jumped the gun so many times in life, I’ve tried to sing my song before it was completely written, and I’ve been singing it for all the wrong reasons and to all the wrong people and at all the wrong times.

Some songs are written in a day. Some take weeks, months, even years. But no matter how long it takes, a song that is going to stand the test of time is written out of passion, love, emotion, vulnerability and for a purpose. You’re probably not going to see a song at the top of the charts that was never finished being written. I highly doubt I could walk in to a producer’s office and hand them a half written song and them agree to put it on the radio with nothing but a verse and maybe half the chorus.

I pray that as my song is being developed, I will remember it is being written for an audience of One and He is writing every word upon my heart.

Leave a Reply

