Dr. Cantwell

Standard

I am loving every millisecond of this warmer weather. I just wish that I could be outside all day to enjoy it. The second the clock strikes 3:15 and the last student has left this classroom, I’m gonna make like a banana and split. I’m outta here, man!!!!!

So I have recently diagnosed myself with trigeminal neuralgia. And I dated a doctor for almost five years so I feel pretty qualified to make that diagnosis. I also have the WebMD app on my phone and I watch TLC’s Trauma: Life in the ER. So, yeah, save your money and just consult me the next time you’re experiencing any aches and pains. Anyway, trigeminal neuralgia. Let me tell you why I think I have it: The pain typically involves the lower face and jaw, although sometimes it affects the area around the nose and above the eye. This intense, stabbing, electric shock-like pain is caused by irritation of the trigeminal nerve, which sends branches to the forehead, cheek and lower jaw. It usually is limited to one side of the face. Every single day of my life, I get the most horrible pain behind and above my left eye and often times it sends a shooting pain in to my ear. My cheek and jaw will feel fevered and sometimes my ear gets really  hot and red. So, in my medical expertise, I have diagnosed myself with trigeminal neuralgia but I still have one problem. I have no idea what to do about it. That’s why I’m writing this blog. I need to consult with the other doctors out there. I mean, I need to consult with a real doctor. Which reminds me. One time, I took an animal science class. There was a cow who had a prolapsed uterus. I volunteered to shove that sucker back in and sew her right up. And I did a pretty darn good job if I must say so myself. I mean, she didn’t die or get infected. So, if you need anything sutured, just let me know. I’m usually available on the weekends.

So, anyway. I’m curious to get ya’ll’s opinion. I know something is definitely not right because I can’t even turn my eye to the left without excruciating pain. And it’s been like this for a couple years. So what do you ya’ll think? Ready? Go!!!!

Leave a Reply

