Aside

Ephesians 3:20-21

(NIV) Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,to him be glory!

(The Message) God can do anything,—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

What does immeasurable mean? According to good ol Webster, immeasurable is defined as having no limits. Some synonyms of immeasurable are bottomless, countless, endless, indefinite, inestimable, inexhaustible, limitless, measureless, no end to, unbounded, uncountable, and unfathomable, just to name a few!

I’ve had a dream growing inside of me for a long, long time. It’s something that I hold very dear to my heart. Sometimes I joke about it and make light of it because I’ve never really thought of it as more than just a dream. I’ve never thought of it as something that could possibly come true, but nonetheless, I am very passionate about it. A few days ago, I had lunch at a cute little diner called Mudd Puddles here in town. As I was sipping my coffee, talking to one of my girl friends, I began to tell her my dream of owning my very own little diner. As I was telling her all my ideas and plans that I’ve dreamed up, I began to get excited, as I always do when I’m thinking about the diner I wish I owned. Paige and I are similar in that we love to cook and bake and more importantly, we LOVE to cook and bake for other people!! So as I was talking to her about my dream of owning a diner, she too started getting excited. We talked about what it would be like to open a little southern style diner. We talked about the menu, the atmosphere of the diner, the different ways we could get the community involved in our diner. We talked about location. We talked about the ways we would be able to give back to our community through cooking and baking. One idea we had would be to adopt one family a week that could use a home cooked meal. We’d call this A Meal to Heal. Customers could anonymously nominate a family from the community that was in need and we would deliver to their home. We even thought of ways we could get local businesses or churches involved in this. We’d find 52 businesses and churches (because there are 52 weeks in a year) and ask that each one sign up for a week that they would like to donate to A Meal to Heal so that each family we “adopted” would get the best of the best. We discussed having an after school program for kids where we would teach the basics of cooking for a family. We would give the kids an opportunity to cook a meal for their parents one night a week. The more we talked about this dream, the more we thought of ways that we could use this diner to “pay it forward” because to whom much is given, much is required. And Paige and I couldn’t think of a better way than using this diner to give back to our community.

The past few days, this diner is all I’ve been able to think about. It’s been hard to focus on anything else. I’ve been all over Pinterest, researching everything from decor to southern style recipes and how to offer something that no one else in this area offers. Last night as I was reading my Bible before I went to bed, I came across these verses in Ephesians and it dawned on me that this dream I have inside of me could be more than a dream. This diner could become reality. All I have to do is dream and God will take care of the rest. And His promise is that he will do immeasurably more than what I could ever dream up on my own. He takes our dreams and our desires and propels them in to realities that are far beyond the finite expectations that we have.

Right now Paige and I have to focus on getting through this last semester of school and finishing up our student teaching, but don’t think for a minute that the plans for this diner aren’t gonna be rolling around in our brains. When we place our dreams in His hands, there are no limits to what He will do.

~Rach

I Have A Dream

Leave a Reply

