Aside
I’m about to make a confession. It’s one I’m kind of ashamed of but I think a lot of people struggle with this so that doesn’t make me feel quite as bad. But I do know that it’s something I need to work on and as I’ve said before, getting it out in the open is a great source of accountability for me. So. Here it is:: I get really, really, really nervous/embarrassed to invite people to church. I don’t know why. But I do. I think it’s mainly the fear of rejection. And then I start to feel that the person I ask will assume that I think they are a bad person. Which is NEVER the case. All I know is that I grew up in church–it was basically my home away from home–but it wasn’t until I found Racine Christian Church that I finally felt like I was home. And I want people to know that feeling of belonging the way that I do. There isn’t a Sunday that I leave that church that I don’t feel challenged to be a better person. Pastor Jon never fails to deliver a message that is applicable to my every day life and one that encourages me to grow in my relationship with Christ. Our theme last year was simply “Deeper.” The challenge was to “get out of the kiddy pool, take off our floaties, and take that leap of faith in to waters that were well over our head.” I can honestly say that in the last year, I feel like I grew more than any of the previous 26 years of my life. And this is something that I want my friends, family, coworkers, random people I meet at Walmart to all experience as well. Changed people change people. The love, acceptance, importance, genuine care, and kindness that I feel every time I walk through those doors is something I want for everyone. So, if I ask you to come to church with me, it’s not because I look at you as a sinner headed to hell in a hand basket. It’s really just because I love ya and I care about you and want you to know the love that I know. And if ya’ll haven’t met Miss Shirrel, you have not lived. She’s one of the most amazing women I have ever known!!!! Ya’ll NEED to know her!!
The following are some verses that I found to remind me of the importance of not being ashamed of being a christian and being brave enough to tell people about the love of Christ.
Matthew 5:16

The Message (MSG)

14-16 “Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.

Romans 1:16

The Message (MSG)

16 It’s news I’m most proud to proclaim, this extraordinary Message of God’s powerful plan to rescue everyone who trusts him

2 Timothy 1:8-12

The Message (MSG)

8-10 So don’t be embarrassed to speak up for our Master. Take your share of suffering for the Message along with the rest of us. We can only keep on going, after all, by the power of God, who first saved us and then called us to this holy work. We had nothing to do with it. It was all his idea, a gift prepared for us in Jesus long before we knew anything about it. But we know it now. Since the appearance of our Savior, nothing could be plainer: death defeated, life vindicated in a steady blaze of light, all through the work of Jesus.

11-12 This is the Message I’ve been set apart to proclaim as preacher, emissary, and teacher. It’s also the cause of all this trouble I’m in. But I have no regrets. I couldn’t be more sure of my ground—the One I’ve trusted in can take care of what he’s trusted me to do right to the end.

Love you guys!~Rach

Speak Up

Leave a Reply

