Just Throwin’ This Out There

Standard

1. I’m not a big fan of winter. I miss the long days of summer. I don’t like having to layer up. I miss being able to slip in to sandals or my Sperry’s and shorts and tank tops. I despise being so cold that even my bones hurt. I miss feeling the sun on my skin and having tan lines and freckles.

2. Today I had this sudden desire to live in the south. I daydreamed about growing up on a cotton plantation, living in one of those old, southern homes with a wrap around porch and sipping sweet tea while wearing a cotton sundress with no shoes. My hair would be blowing in the hot summer wind and I’d drift off to the sound of bugs chirping in the late afternoon, my blue heeler curled up next to me. Yes, if I could have a do-over, this is what I’d do.

3. I’m still listening to Christmas music. Not every day, but at least every other day. I’m not quite ready to throw in the towel on my Rascal Flatts Christmas album. Something about I’ll Be Home For Christmas makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, like when I’m curled up on the couch under one of my momma’s quilts, the glow of the fire radiating off my skin. I know I said I hate winter, but I guess there is ONE thing I do enjoy about this dreadful time of year: fireplaces. There. I said it. I found one thing I like about winter.

4. I have two brothers, both younger than me, both are two of my best friends. I’m close to them in different ways, I enjoy different things about both of them. One thing I love about my middle brother is that we are really good at agreeing to disagree. We see eye to eye on a lot of things, like our sense of humor or our love of tradition but there are a few things that we simply do not agree on. For instance, I take a picture of the sunrise/sunset at least 4-5 times a week. I love the beautiful pinks and purples and oranges and having captured those moments in a picture is something that I cherish. I love to be able to look back at them and be reminded of God’s artistry. My brother, on the other hand, thinks it’s silly. He says that if he took a picture of every beautiful sunrise or sunset, he would begin to take them for granted. They’d all start looking the same to him. So we go round and round about why we do or do not take pictures of the sky. All that being said, tonight around 5:30, my brother called and said, “Hey Rachel, I know how much you love sunsets and I just wanted to let you know there’s a really pretty one right now…..and um, I took a picture for you just in case you didn’t get to see it.” And in that moment I knew just how much my brother loves me. That simple gesture reminded me of how lucky I am to have the brothers that God gave me. Kinda made me choke up a little, I’m not gonna lie.

5. Finally, I know I said I’m not dating, talking about dating, blogging about dating, etc for the next six months, but rules are made to be broken, right?!?!? All I’m gonna say is that the tire pressure light has been on in my car since New Year’s Eve and I have yet to check my tires. I drove to Springfield and back and I’ve driven to Joplin numerous times, never once checking my tires. I know it’s not a big deal (or is it?) and in all honesty, all I’d have to do is ask my dad to check them for me. Heck, he even taught me how to do it last year. But I don’t want to. I just kinda wish I had a man to do it for me. Not that I want a man to do everything for me, but it would just be nice to have one that was capable of checking my tires for me. That’s all. And I’m done.

It’s 7:00 P.M. and I’m about to march my happy butt to bed. I’m glad I could get all this off my chest tonight. See ya’ll on the flippity flop~Rach

Leave a Reply

