Good As Gold

Standard

Job 23:10 He knows the way that I take; when he has tested me, I will come forth as gold.

After gold has been extracted or mined, it is often times put through a refining process. This process results in higher purity. There are a couple ways to refine gold, but an intense heating process is the oldest and most common method used. Other than a few safety precautions being added, there haven’t been many advancements made. While gold is being refined, the fire is heated to temperatures in excess of 1000 degrees Celsius. During this process, the gold is stirred and all the impurities begin to rise to the surface where they are then skimmed off. So, in short, for the gold to reach its highest level of purity, it has to go through the heat.

I read this verse in Job a couple nights ago, maybe last night. I don’t remember. As soon as I read it, I had chills all over my entire body. It goes on to say:

My feet have closely followed his steps;
I have kept to his way without turning aside.
I have not departed from the commands of his lips;
I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.

I immediately got my phone out and sent these verses to Christin and I told her, “I want to come forth as gold.” And her response was this, “Then you’re gonna have to go through the heat.” Ah. That’s kind of scary. But how badly do I want this for my life? Enough to go through the heat? Enough to make sacrifices? Enough to get on my face before God every day and seek HIS will? I think about Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. They were literally willing to be thrown in to the fire for their God. They trusted in his power and they didn’t care what the outcome was because they knew that there was a higher power that walked before them and He was their deliverer. Walking through the fire didn’t harm them but in fact, advanced their faith in who Christ really was for them. I’m sure they believed He was deliverer before they stepped in to the fire, but imagine how much more so they believed this after he did in fact deliver them! But they had to walk through the fire first to prove Him as their deliverer.

In the second part of these verses it says that “my feet have walked closely beside Him and I treasure His words more than the food I eat every day.” Is that really how I feel, though? I mean, honestly, is my desire to “come forth as gold” stronger than my desires for anything else? These verses have really challenged me. Am I willing to go through the heat and let God skim off all my impurities, all my selfishness, all my insecurities, all my pride, all my bad habits, everything that’s keeping me from being the purest form of gold that God wants for me to be?

I’m thankful for this challenge. I’m thankful for the heat that I know I have to walk through because without it, I could never reach my full potential. So, bring on the heat. What’s that old saying…..”If you can’t stand the heat, stay outta the kitchen!”

It’s bout to get hot up in hur! ~Rach

One response »

Leave a Reply

