Praying For Friends

Standard

Colossians 1:9-12 (The Message Version)

Be assured that from the first day we heard of you, we haven’t stopped praying for you, asking God to give you wise minds and spirits attuned to his will, and so acquire a thorough understanding of the ways in which God works. We pray that you’ll live well for the Master, making him proud of you as you work hard in his orchard. As you learn more and more how God works, you will learn how to do your work. We pray that you’ll have the strength to stick it out over the long haul—not the grim strength of gritting your teeth but the glory-strength God gives. It is strength that endures the unendurable and spills over into joy, thanking the Father who makes us strong enough to take part in everything bright and beautiful that he has for us.

I love my friends. I’m kind of a social butterfly, but I’m a homebody, too. I thoroughly enjoy spending time with mi amigos, but there are most definitely times that I just want to be home, in my pj’s, watching reruns of Seinfield. Ain’t no shame! Most of the time, though, you’ll find me doing something that involves being with friends. It’s not always a night out on the town. Actually, when I’m with friends, it usually consists of us being at home, watching movies, baking, getting crafty, feeding cows, or playing the occasional game of Chicken Foot. On Saturday, I invited my middle brother, Jeffery, and his wife to come eat dinner with some of my friends and me. He looked at me and said, “Do I look like the social butterfly of this family?” Fine. Don’t have fun. Anyway, all this to say that I love my friends. Each of them is special to me and all in different ways. That being said, I can still pray the same prayer for each one of them. And I do. Last week, my devotions challenged the reader (AKA: me) to read Colossians 1:9-12 every day for 30 days. The challenge was to pray these verses over my friends and it also said that I should write down a very specific list of the people that I was going to pray for over the next 30 days. Immediately, several people came to mind and I began to jot the names down. And as I’ve prayed for them this past week (and added names to the list), it’s been really neat to watch the Lord work in their lives. I realize it’s not just because I’m praying this prayer over their life, but I do think it’s really cool how God works and how I can be used to pray blessings over their lives. I have one friend that I’ve been praying for this week about a job situation and just this morning, she sent me a text telling me some great news about a potential job offer. These are the kind of things that remind me that God really is in control and when I allow myself to be an extension of His love, He will use me. And isn’t that what it’s all about, anyway? Here, I’ll answer that question for you. Yes. It is.

When praying for my friends (or family, coworkers, etc because this can be applied to anyone, really), here’s how I’ve been praying:

  1. I pray that they are shown wisdom, understanding, and a knowledge of His will (what He wants for their life),
  2. I pray they would live a life pleasing to God as they grow in the knowledge of His power (as they begin to see what He really is capable of doing and being),
  3. I pray they would gain the strength of Christ so that they can walk in patience and endure the path that God has them on. I pray that they won’t worry about the place that they are in now, but that they will enjoy the journey that they are on and learn to trust in His timing,
  4. And I pray that they will always give thanks in everything they do and that they will walk in joy and the understanding that in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him.

I’m thankful for my friends. All of them. The ones I talk to every day and the ones that I only talk to every six months. Each of them is special to me. And I pray that the next 30 days bring blessings beyond your imagination as I pray for each one of you. I love all ya’ll!!

Your Friend, Rach

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

