I Don’t Get It

Standard

There are many things that I myself or close friends have walked through in life that I don’t understand. Why did my grandpa, the world’s most amazing man, die at age 57? He had a lot of life to live. He was supposed to take MY babies to Pizza Hut every Friday night just like he did with my brothers and me. He was supposed to teach my kids his special knock that let us know he was at the front door. Why did my aunt, the most loving, most understanding woman, leave this earth way before what we all thought was her time? Sometimes it makes me mad. I’m just going to be honest. Sometimes I want to scream and cry and beat my fists against the bed. And I’ve done that. I’ve cried out to God and been really angry with him and asked him why he thought it was okay to take my family away from me. Looking back at some of those moments in time, I can’t help but imagine how God must have looked and felt during those times. I can imagine him holding me the same way my earthly father would, letting me scream and cry and get mad, all the while just holding me tenderly. And then when I was done, he wiped my tears away, knowing that this probably wasn’t going to be the last time I’d hurt and I’d more than likely have another moment when all I could do was cry, and he began to just wipe my tears, even though they seemed like they’d never stop falling. And he let me just rest in his arms. He let me just lay back and find strength in him. And he let me know that it was okay to be mad. And that I might not understand for a really long time why he allowed these things to happen. I might not ever fully understand. But in all things, he works for the good of those who love him. It doesn’t make sense. I don’t get it. But I don’t have to. He knows. And he has a plan.
I got a call this morning from one of my dear friends. She is experiencing one of the most difficult things a woman could ever walk through. We don’t get it. We don’t know why God allows this to happen. But we trust Him. And we trust that he is our comforter in time of need. He’s our healer. And he is more than enough.
Say a prayer for my sweet friend and her husband. We all appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

