The Power Of A Praying Wife

Standard

Almost a year ago, I met a lady named Shontell on Instagram. Long story short, we hit it off and have become rather great friends over the course of these past few months. We text. We email. We share our devotions. We are basically twins if the truth be told. We have so much in common it’s scary. But like a good scary. We’ve even questioned if we were separated at birth. Anyway, Shontell and some of her friends have started reading the book called The Power of A Praying Wife and I couldn’t let my soul-sister read it without me. She told me there were a few other girls in the group that were single that had decided to read it so I said, “Sure. Why not.” 

All day today, I’ve been curious about this book so I got on the Google and did a little research. Basically what I found blew my mind. I found an excerpt from chapter one and let me just say, I’m hooked. What stuck out immediately was this:Your heart must be clean before God in order for you to see good results. That’s why praying for a husband must begin by praying for his wife–AKA-you!! It’s impossible to truly give yourself in prayer for your husband without first examining your own heart. 

Those are some powerful words. I do pray for my future mate. BUT, I find myself praying that God is preparing him and that God is getting him ready for me and for our family we’ll have one day. While those are all great things to ask of God, I have remember that I, too, am in need of preparation. How can I expect my future husband to be a Godly man if I’m not striving every single day to be a Godly woman!! I have to examine my own heart first. Talk about a swift kick to the butt! That’s a hard pill to swallow because let’s be real, when we begin to examine our hearts and when we ask God to reveal the things in our life that aren’t right…..well, He does just that. And then it’s up to us to begin making those changes, allowing the preparation to begin. I want to be ready when God decides to drop that special someone in to my life. I don’t want to miss out because I’m not taking time to be aware of the most important thing in my life, and that’s being (first and foremost) in love with God, allowing Him to work on me, and then letting Him work things out in His timing. 

I’m excited to read this book with Shontell and the other ladies and I’m anxious to see what things God will do in my own heart. Who knows….the possibilities are endless. 

Good Night, Ya’ll. ~Rach

5 responses »

  1. Oh. Hello. I see you are talking behind me back again. Has it REALLY been that long since we met? How is that even possible?! In my other hand, I thought you and I met at birth.

Leave a Reply

