Happy Turkey

Standard

Thanksgiving has always been one of my favorite holidays. I love the traditions that have stayed alive in my family and I love that today, both of my brothers and their wives were able to here. It’s been several years since we were all together on Thanksgiving. I love that at my house we have the mentality that “when you’re here, you’re family.” I got to spend this day with some of my favorite people, including my gramma Dodie and her sister, the Williams, and a good friend, Tony.

We started lunch off with each one of saying one thing we are thankful for, and from young to old, we all agreed that family and close friends are one of the main things we are thankful for. As I look back over this past year, there’s just no way around it-my family has been the  most incredible, supportive, forgiving, understanding group of people in my life. I can’t even begin to count the ways in which they have shown me they’ve had my back and their love for me has been so evident. I can honestly say I’m one lucky girl to have been born in to a family that isn’t afraid to love and to show love.

Thinking back over the past year, it’s clear that each and every thing I’ve walked through has helped steer me in the direction that I’ve needed. I just said this the other day, but it’s so true: hindsight is 20/20 and even when I haven’t understood the things I’ve walked through in the moment, I can look back and see that everything has worked out just like it was supposed to. I’ve been given more chances than I deserve and for that, I am most grateful. As I sat at lunch today and looked around at all the people I was able to share this day with, I can say that each one of them have played a rather large role in loving me through this year of learning, of growing, and of becoming a better me. I am truly blessed beyond measure.

I’m thankful for all the blessings in my life! And has Isaac says, “Happy Turkey!!”

Gobble Till Ya Wobble! Rach

Leave a Reply

