Oh. Okay. I Get It Now.

Standard

I don’t always understand life. Actually, I rarely get it. But I do often look back over events in my life and see how things lined up, how things played out, and a lot of times, that’s when life makes sense. Hindsight is 20/20, right? In the moment, I may not see the light at the end of the tunnel, I feel overwhelmed with school, with work, with endless projects and countless practicum hours. And there have been a lot I moments in this semester when I thought I’m probably not cut out to be a teacher. Then yesterday afternoon, a parent came to me and said, “My kids love you. They come home every day saying how much they adore you because you hug them. You give them high fives. You listen when they tell you that they love you. And they KNOW you love them.” And it’s in that moment that I can look back and see all the steps I’ve taken to get here have been worth it. But the main lesson it taught me was this: teaching goes so far beyond the book, beyond the curriculum, beyond the lecture. When your kids know you love them and that you truly care about their well-being, they trust you. They don’t want to let you down. And this flows in to the classroom. They want to learn. They want to give you their best. I read something last night that I hope I can always live by, not just in my classroom, but in all aspects of life: “When another person makes you suffer, it’s because he suffers deeply within himself and his suffering is spilling over. He doesn’t need punishment; he needs help.” One thing I’ve begun to learn is that there are a lot of hurting kids. A lot of kids that are dealing with issues that their fragile minds and hearts shouldn’t have to. And I’m so quickly reminded that this is why I chose to be a teacher. Not just so I could teach my students to recognize the sun’s annual pattern cluster, or how the sun changes positions between seasons, or how to collect data in a science journal. No, there’s more to it than that. I’ve been given an opportunity to show kids that they are loved, they can achieve their goals, and that I will do everything in my power to see to it that they are successful. That’s why I chose to be a teacher.
Have a great weekend, y’all!
~Rach

One response »

Leave a Reply

