Aside

According to my calculations, I’ve been alive for 9496.3 days. I kinda thought it had been longer, but I’ve also never been great with math so I can never fully trust my own judgement when it comes to numbers.

I had a wonderful birthday, thanks to all the wonderful people in my life. I started celebrating on Friday, three days before my birthday, and didn’t stop until the clock struck midnight on the eve of October 23. I loved waking up to all the text messages and Facebook posts wishing me a happy birthday, but my most favorite thing of the entire day was being able to get my nephew all ready for bed and rock him before he went to sleep. He makes my heart go pitter-pat and there’s not another person on this Earth that I love more.

Looking back on this year, I can’t help but be reminded of how God’s hand has been the one to orchestrate every single moment. This year was bittersweet. I lost two very special women to cancer, two women that played a HUGE role in me becoming who I am today. My aunt Roxanne and Lynda Langland are two ladies that will always, always, be dear to my heart. This birthday wasn’t the same without hearing my aunt Roxanne singing happy birthday to me. But in all of this, I know that God has used these difficult times to draw me closer to Him, to give me the opportunity to depend on Him.

This last year I was reminded how blessed I am with Godly women in my life. I love looking back and seeing how God strategically placed them in my life at just the right times. Christin, Paige, Sam, Lisa, Shontell……..these are women that I can share my devotions with and when I’m feeling like I just want to throw in the towel, I can call them and they remind me of God’s grace and His love and His patience with me. I never understood the importance of GODLY women in my life until this last year.

This past year I became a member of Racine Christian Church and I’ve never felt so at home in any church in my entire life. I leave there every Sunday feeling challenged and ready to apply the teaching to my life. I’ve seen the heart of Christ in the people there and I see the passion that my pastor has to reach people that are hurting. I look forward to going to church every week and before I started going again last November, I hadn’t been to church in over four years. I was nervous to say the least, but sticking it out and trusting that God had brought me there for a reason is one of the best choices I made all year. I’m so lucky to have such an awesome church!! And Mrs. Shirrel is the sweetest!!!!!!

I feel like this last year was a year of healing, a year of growth, a time to focus on ME and becoming better. While I feel like these are things I should always keep in the forefront of my mind, I can’t help but think that this year is going to be my year. Something big is going to happen. I have no idea what or when or how or why, but this is my year. And it may come in a small form, it may come in the form of a flashing, neon sign on Rangeline Road. Whatever it is, I feel like God has been preparing me, preparing my heart and soul for something incredible.

Thank you to everyone for the birthday wishes! Love ya!!

Rach

 

Nine Thousand Four Hundred Ninety Six Point Three

Leave a Reply

