Point Man

Standard

Sundays are still my favorite day. Mainly because my whole family comes to Mom and Dad’s for lunch and I love nothing more than being with my family on Sundays. The other days are nice, too, but there’s something different, something special about Sunday afternoon at Mom and Dad’s. Football or golf on the TV, the smell of Mama’s home cooking filling my nostrils, the sound of my nephew’s laughter as Uncle Nate chases him around the house, the conversations, the laughs. It’s my favorite. Today, I was really excited about fried chicken. So excited, in fact, that I was eating so fast, a piece of chicken flew directly into my right eyeball and that, my friends, is not fun. Also, this has nothing to do with what I’m about to say, but I thought it was information you needed to know. I’m glad we had this talk.

Anyway. It should come as no surprise when I say that two of my biggest desires in life are to be a wife and a mother. Sometimes I feel guilty for wanting these things and for asking God to bring them to me in His timing because I’m sure there are other things that I could be asking God for, like wisdom and patience and love for others. But, it’s true. I pray every day for the man that God created for me, even though we’ve never met. I pray for my babies that I’ve yet to bring in to this world. I pray for their health, for their minds, that they will always know how much I love them. And although I’ve never even laid eyes on them yet, I know that if I needed to, I’d lay down my own life for them. And for my husband-to-be, I pray that he has the heart of God and that he is doing all he needs to do to prepare himself to be the leader of our home.

I think it’s safe to say that a lot of girls make lists of “qualifications”, if you will, of things they require out of the man they date and ultimately marry. I made a list a long time ago, when I was like 14, but honestly, how did I even have a clue as to what was and was not important in a relationship when I was 14? I didn’t have the slightest. I think the qualifications were as follows: he needed to look like Leonardo DiCaprio, sing like Justin Timberlake, and have an accent like Matthew McConaughey. Never mind requiring he love me or provide for our family so long as he was a combination of those three men. Well, it’s 12 years later, and I must say, my list has changed quite a bit. The only thing that I would say made the cut is the Matthew McConaughey accent. Come on ladies, I know we’re all in agreement on this one.

Have you ever heard of a point man? I hadn’t until today. My pastor mentioned something about a point man at church today so I asked one of my best friends in all the world who just so happens to be in the Marine Corp to give me his definition of a point man. His words were: a point man is someone that takes lead in the patrol and the first one into the house when they raid it. The definition that my pastor gave was similar. He said its the person that goes ahead of everyone, making sure that the path is clear and safe for those behind him. While I was sitting there in church this morning, I got to thinking. There is nothing on my list as important as praying that my husband is our point man. If I don’t have a man that is willing to go before his family, preparing a way, making sure we are safe (spiritually, physically, mentally, emotionally, etc), then all the little things like being tall, dark, and handsome really don’t matter. I’ve got to have a man that is so devoted to being the leader of our home that he makes that his number one priority in life, above his work, above his hobbies, above everything.

Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t quite written off those other qualifications. I still want a tall cowboy with dark hair and eyes, and hard working hands. I want a man that will coach our kids in little league and who loves my cooking. Someone who makes me laugh!!!!!! I want a man that wears boots and a hat. I want a man that has land and cattle because those are two of my favorite things in all the world. The list goes on and on. BUT, they are all in vain if he’s not my point man above everything else.

Good night! ~Rach

Leave a Reply

