A Dolla Makes Me Holla

Standard

I don’t know why I used that as my title. But I did, and I’ve just learned not to question some of the things that I say or do. It makes life so much easier for myself.

I have a problem. Apparently I have fat thumbs. That or when I get excited, the speed at which I text dramatically increases and I forget to proof read what I have written before I hit the send button. And as you know, once you’ve hit send, there ain’t no going  back, my friend. In the past couple weeks, I have sent two texts to two different people (both great girl friends of mine, thank GOD!) that were so embarrassing and completely inappropriate all because the slip of my thumb. Just like that, no going back……but luckily they were both sent to people who have a sense of humor. Starting today, though, I’m gonna start proof reading. I think.

I wore camo for the first time last week. It was also the last. I went to a birthday party for a family friend who just so happens to be a fanatic when it comes to hunting so his wife had very strict instructions for everyone to wear camo to the party. The only problem was I couldn’t see anyone…………………..Okay fine, lame joke, I know. But I laughed out loud at myself so get over it.

My dad is so weird. He was born and raised in Texas so of course, we traveled there quite a bit to see family when I was growing up. Without fail, every single time we would cross the state line in to Texas, my dad made everyone in the car cross their heart with their right hand and then salute the Texas flag. Then when I was 18, I moved to Texas and I swore to myself that I was NOT going to cross my heart or salute the flag because, how would my dad ever know? He wasn’t in the car with me. But just like when I was a kid, I had to do it every time because I just knew my dad would have a tugging in his heart and he’d know that I hadn’t done it. I still go to Dallas at least once a year to see friends and every time, I cross my heart and salute that stupid Texas flag, not because I love Texas but because I just know my dad will feel it in his heart if I don’t………So I guess that makes me weird, too.

“I before E except after C.” Weird. Do you ever wonder why it’s so hard for foreigners to learn how to read and write our language? Even we can’t follow our own dang rules.

In case you are wondering, this really is how my mind works. If you will notice, none of the above paragraphs have anything to do with each other. Sometimes, I just sit and think and one thought leads to another and then to another…..For instance, the first paragraph about the embarrassing text made me think about wearing camo because I sent one of those embarrassing texts the night of the party. The camo then made me think of my dad because hunting season is just right around the corner and he’ll be wearing nothing but camo for the next few months. And then thinking about my dad led me to thoughts of the English language and how differently we speak in all the various parts of the US. Example: my dad does not say pole. My dad says “po.” My dad does not say hole. My dad says “ho.” Do not let his Texas accent fool you, though. He is quite intelligent. And before I get started on more random thoughts, I am going to call it a night.

Sleep tight, you guys…..or ya’ll….or whatever you say depending on your geographical location…….~Rach

Leave a Reply

