Then:Now

Standard

Image

These are photos of none other than myself, 26 years ago and current day. I don’t think I’ve changed that much. I guess I grew some hair, but other than that, I don’t see much difference. I still have the little double chin, dangit. No matter how hard I work out, that chin has just made permanent residence on my neck and somehow, 26 years later, it’s not nearly as cute as when I was three months old. I think it’s funny that in both photos I’m wearing blue and white. Some things never change. My gramma Dodie bought me that blue dress. Unfortunately, I’m an adult now which means I have to buy my own clothes so the shirt in the current photo was purchased with my own deniro. Growing up is not nearly as glamarous as I thought it would be when I was sixteen and had no concept of bills and real life responsibilities. But life has been good to me, so I really can’t complain too much.

I think I always knew I wanted to be a teacher. I remember bossing my brothers around and making them be my pretend students, using old church hymnals as text books and Mom’s notepads for worksheets. There was a short time when I first began college that I thought I wanted to be a nurse but then I remembered that 1.) I don’t do needles, 2.) I don’t do blood, 3.) I don’t do bodily smells, and 4.) I couldn’t deal with literally having someone’s life in my hands. I’d get the shakes and start sweating real bad if I was ever in that situation. Matter of fact, just the other day I got super nervous trying to pull a hangnail off my own finger and thought I’d pass out. Nursing was not my calling. Teaching, however, I think that’s what the good Lord himself had in mind when he created me because who else gets as excited as I did today over the “Reading is Fun” sign I found on sale at Walmart? I’m not normal.
It’s crazy to look back over all the places life has taken me in 26 years. Ten years ago, I was able to travel to the Philippines, a couple years ago I was able to spend time in Africa and make friends with some special people. I’ve been to Mexico countless times, Jamaica, the cayman islands…the list could go on. I’ve traveled all over the US. I’ve had incredible experiences in my short 26 years. All that being said, I never dreamed I’d be sitting in the spot that I’m at. I really thought I’d be married with at least one child. Isn’t it funny how life has a way of doing its own thing, though? I guess it’s really just all part of God’s plan. Although, I did tell my mother last night that if the good Lord waits much longer to bring someone in to my life, I may not have any eggs left. Haha. Sorry I just talked about my eggs. Forget I ever said that.
Well on that note, I’m off for a run because when you’re 26, single, and don’t have children, you can do that!
See ya! Rach

Leave a Reply

