Aside

A List About Today:

1. I drank too much coffee but that’s nothing new.

2. I introduced my preschoolers to friggles. They basically died and went to heaven, they LOVED them so much.  To be the recipient of a friggle is quite the achievement. Getting a friggle means you had your listening ears on and were sitting criss-cross-apple-sauce. A friggle is nothing more than having the child hold their hand out, palm up, and I’ll tickle the inside of their hand. AND THEY LOVE IT. They worked so hard to get friggles today. Friggles=quiet children which in turn=happy Miss Wachel.

3. I colored my hair red. I love it. I’ve got a ton of natural red in my hair anyway (thank you, Gramma) but I wanted it to be a little more distinct so I said, “What the hey?!?” and I went for it. It’s all about living life on the edge, people. It feels good to live on the wild side from time to time.

4. I donated blood. There’s a crew that comes down from Springfield so they aren’t familiar with people in my home town but they kept laughing at me because I knew EVERY single person that came through the door of the blood mobile. “Hey Janet! How’s life? I hear you’re a Grandma!?” “Oh, hey, Laura! Congrats on the award!” “Bobby! Long time, no see! Still at the hospital?” And this went on for the entire hour. Gotta love being a local in a small town. I actually do love it. But I kinda want to move. That’s another story for another time.

5. I took my nephew to Wendy’s for chicken nuggets, fries, and “yup.” He has a small obsession with ketchup meaning he dips EVERYTHING in it, even bananas from time to time. He loves his “yup” and I love him.

6. I’ve had something on my mind all day. My pastor talked about a verse in the bible that says so many times we “forsake the spring of living water (Christ) and instead dig our own cisterns (wells) in search of something that will quench our thirst.” I think I’m guilty of this. Actually, I know that I am. I think a lot of times I get caught up in what I think is right for my life (meaning I dig my own wells) instead of relying on Him to meet my needs. There’s only one place I will find peace and contentment and that’s in Him. I often times want something so bad that I forget to stop what I’m doing and ask the question “Is this what GOD wants for my life as well?” I can want to be in a relationship all day long,  but if it’s not the one that God has planned for my life, I have to let go and trust that He knows what is best for me. I can want a certain job so much that I’m willing to sacrifice my first born (okay, maybe not that extreme) but if it’s not the job that He has for me, I have to trust that there is one far greater waiting for me and in my faithfulness to trust Him, all His plans will unfold before my eyes and they will be far greater than what I had hoped for. It’s hard to believe that a lot of times, especially when you thought you had found the best of the best. It’s hard to trust that there is something better. If I chose to not trust, though, I would be “digging my own well” rather than relying on the spring of living water. And that is no bueno.

7. My middle finger is throbbing. They pricked it to check my hemoglobin. I bet you guys didn’t know this, but one time, I had a friend who gave me the nickname Hemoglobin because my initials are RBC…….red blood count…..Rachel Brooke Cantwell…..yeah I don’t quite get it either but whatever. 

8. We made ice cream sundaes for the kids since school starts tomorrow. I was telling them that we were having ice cream sundaes for snack and one of the little guys looked at me, tears in his eyes, and said, “But Miss Rachel, I don’t come to school on Sunday. I’ll never get my ice cream.” I hate it when I start laughing at them because they don’t realize how funny they are at times. Gosh, I love those kids.

9. I had to tell the man at the blood mobile my height and weight. I may have lied just a little bit but I think God sees my heart on that one. Surely he understands.

10. I miss my aunt today a lot. Next Monday is the first day of my senior year in the teaching program and I know she’d be so proud of me. She always was. We would’ve gone for mani/pedis to celebrate. She always picked red for her nail color. I still have her text messages on my phone. So does my cousin, David. We both agreed we won’t ever be ready to get rid of them. I miss her laugh. And I miss her smile. I miss her voice. I miss lunch dates with her. I just miss her today, more than I normally do.

I’ll leave you with a photo of my red hairs. I love them.

Image

~Rach

A List About To…

2 responses »

  1. I love lists. You may know this about me. I am sorry you miss your auntie. If you come for Halloween we could hug it out. It will help. I am sure of it.
    I put some culluhs in muh hairs this week. There is red. We are twins.

Leave a Reply

