Love

Standard

 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

How often do we use the word “love?” I find myself saying it all the time. I love my new shoes. I love that shirt. I love that song. I love my dog. I love my nephew. I love my family. You get the point. But when you think about what LOVE really is, in its truest definition, it puts things in to perspective. I’m no expert on love but, we all know there are various forms of love. For instance, I said a minute ago that I loved my new shoes. Does this mean I have a deep emotional connection with my shoes? Of course not. It just means I like them a lot. We love in so many different ways. Loving someone means that we are patient with them. Love is built on patience. All other characteristics of love come from patience. You can’t rush love. You have to let love do its work and in its time. Love is always on time.

Love isn’t self-seeking. Love has the other person’s best interest in mind. What do they need to do to be successful? Figure that out and make sure you are doing everything humanly possible to see to it that this happens…….even if it’s just time.

Love always protects, always trusts, always hopes, never gives up.

I love love. I am so fortunate to have grown up in a family that isn’t afraid to say I love you and mean it. I’m so lucky that I was raised by parents that modeled true love. They are patient with one another, they put each others needs before their own, and they never give up on the love that is between them. It may not always be a bed of roses, but at the end of the day, they keep no record of wrongs. Love is a beautiful thing. I don’t think you just fall in to love. It’s something that takes time and a lot of understanding and grace. And of course, a lot of patience. Patience. Patience. Patience. Love is more than a feeling. It’s more than butterflies in your stomach. Love isn’t always easy, but when you love in the purest way, you never give up.

Leave a Reply

