Nice Knowing Ya, Maryland

Standard

Currently, I’m sitting at gate 8 in the Ronald Reagan National Airport in DC. If anyone’s looking for me, I’m the lady in the corner with the wild hair, trying to blend in with the super uncomfortable airport chair. That’s kind of hard to do, though, with hair that resembles a lion’s mane and a tie dye shirt. What can I say, I had a LATE night.
I love my cousins. I’ve said it before, cousins are life long best friends. I needed this vacation more than anyone knows and being able to fly out here and be with people that I could just relax with and not worry about anything back home was such a breath of fresh air. Last night we stayed up WAY past my bedtime and found ourselves sitting on the couch looking at pictures of my aunt Roxanne and we all cried and laughed and told our favorite stories and memories about her. We miss her so much. And I miss them already!
Ok, side note: there’s a little boy, probably one year old, walking around the gate area and he’s wearing Sperry’s and I can not even handle how cute he is. I want one. I just got baby fever. Call the docta……Alright, it’s gone. I’m cured. I don’t want one anymore. Not right now, anyway. But those darn Sperry’s….
Anyway, forgive me for being so easily distracted.
Yesterday, we took the subway to downtown DC. That was a first for me. Where I come from, we have hitching posts. And we use them. The closest thing we have to a subway would be….well nothing. Nothing even comes close. But we have hay rides. Betcha DC doesn’t have hay rides. So, anyway, we took the subway downtown and then hopped off at Union Station and then boarded the open top bus tour, which was an experience in and of itself. They some crazzzzzyyyy people in DC. The tour bus took us to all the monuments, memorials, important places, etc. and at each one, we had the option to get off and go inside the buildings or walk around and take pictures like any good tourist would do. It was so hot yesterday, I almost jumped in the Reflecting Pool.
You guys, if you haven’t been to DC, I highly recommend it. There is so much to see and do. We spent the entire day sight seeing and there’s a ton we didn’t even get to. Oh, did y’all know that the Arlington National Cemetery is in Virginia? I’m ashamed to admit this, but when I lived in Dallas, some of my girl friends and I drove to Arlington, Texas looking for the cemetery. I lie not. I blame the Texas heat.
Honestly, the cemetery was by far the most amazing experience of my whole trip. I watched the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and even as I type this, I have goosebumps covering my entire body just remembering it. I stood there with tears in my eyes thinking about how dedicated these soldiers are to guarding the tomb and how dedicated each man/woman that serves our country is to protecting our freedom and our rights as Americans. I’m so proud to be an American. And so thankful for our military (shout out to my BFF, Barry Albious in the Marine Corps).
What a great trip I had. In these four short days, I was in DC, Maryland, Virginia, and I think Pennsylvania. I swear, we’d switch lanes on the highway and be in another state. They’re all so close. I wish I could’ve stayed longer, but I can’t wait to see my nephew and the rest of mi familia at home.
Maryland, it’s been real. It’s been fun. It’s been real fun.
Until next time,
Rach

Leave a Reply

