Steeeeeeerike!

Standard

Baltimore, Day Two:
I love it here. I hate the traffic, but I love everything else. This morning I slept in and then had coffee on the deck with my cousin and pretended to know what I was talking about when it comes to sports and politics, two subjects in which my cousin is well educated.
My cousins and I had lunch at a little place called May’s and OH MY LORD…I’ve never had fresh crab in my life. That’s just not something the Midwest offers. But let me tell you right now–I died and woke up at the pearly gates. It was soooooo good. I would move here simply for their crab.
After lunch we began our 36 mile trip to DC to watch the Washington Nationals play the Marlins. I figured we’d get there in about 40-45 minutes. Wrong. Two and a half hours later, we were pulling in to downtown DC and I was so stressed out from the ride over that I felt like I needed to be heavily sedated.
So, we parked. We walked four blocks to the stadium and once we were there and I had an adult beverage in my hands, I finally started breathing a little easier. And the cooler, northern weather was a nice change from what I’ve grown used to at home. It was only 98 at the game!! A rather pleasant drop from the 110 I’ve been suffocating in!!
I loved my first ever pro baseball game. The Nationals won. The fans were great. And now we’re home, in our pj’s, David just went on an ice cream run and we’ll be glued to the TV for the rest of the night! It doesn’t get any better.
Tomorrow we’re spending the day in DC and I can’t wait to discover how little I really know about our country.
More to come!
-Rach

Leave a Reply

