Homeless Women, Backstreet Boys, and Seinfeld

Standard

One of the hardest decisions you’ll ever face in life is choosing whether to walk away or try harder.

I had to run to town earlier and while I was stopped at a red light, I noticed the car in front of me had tags that said JOSH1-9. It drives me nuts when cars have personalized tags that I can’t figure out. I mean, come on, if you must get personalized tags, at least make it easy for people like me to decipher because otherwise, I’ll be thinking about it for the rest of the day. Anyway, I could only come up with one meaning for these tags. It had to be a verse from the Bible. So when I was at a point where I could pull up the handy dandy Google app on my phone, I googled Joshua 1:9. “Here is what I am commanding you to do. Be strong and brave. Do not be terrified. Do not lose hope. I am the Lord your God. I will be with you everywhere you go.” I like how The Message version says it: “I won’t give up on you. Don’t get off track, to the left or to the right. Then you’ll get where you’re going; then you’ll succeed. Haven’t I commanded you? Strength! Courage! Don’t be timid; don’t get discouraged. God, your God, is with you every step you take.”

Earlier today, one of my favorite friends texted me and asked how I was doing. We talk just about every day so we are more than comfortable with being honest with each other. So I told her I was cranky and moody and for no reason other than I was being a hormonal woman and I needed to get over it. She then went on to tell me that she had cried earlier in the day because she forgot her purse and because “her hair looked like a homeless lady had taken a nap and a cat had gone crazy on her hair while she was napping.” Not much longer, another girl friend texted and said, “You know you’re having an emotional PMS kind of day when you listen to Backstreet Boys ‘Shape of My Heart’ more than five times.” I responded with telling her that I left class early, came home, immediately threw my pj’s on, grabbed a snack, turned the TV on to Seinfeld, hit the couch, and had no intentions of moving all night. Oh hey, did I mention women are nuts? I worry about the female species from time to time. So like I said, I had no intentions of moving all night until I realized I wanted a Subway sandwich, so I wasted no time in heading to town for that little treat. That’s when I saw the license plate JOSH1-9, my reminder to not lose hope and that no matter where I go, I’m never alone. Today was just one of those days where my attitude needed a serious adjustment. My best friend leaned over to me in class and said, “I want to give you a hug but I’m afraid of you right now.” HA. Sorry, Sami. I guess my attitude stunk so bad I didn’t even have to say a word. I want to publicly give each one of you permission to hit me over the head the next time I have one of these days. I remember several weeks ago I wrote about making a vow to be a happier person. Today, I failed at that. I’ve been faced with a “decision” for a few days now and today was like the boiling point, I guess. I just wanted to know what I’m supposed to do and I didn’t get the answer when I wanted it and how I wanted it, so basically, I was throwing a fit all day and was moody and cranky. I hate it when I act like that. We are always responsible for how we ACT regardless of how we FEEL. All day I just wanted to know if I’m supposed to walk away from a certain situation or try harder. I don’t want to feel like I threw in the towel, but I also don’t want to exert all my energy in to something that isn’t supposed to happen. I was in a bad mood over that. I need to be grounded to my room with no supper. That’s so stupid to be in a bad mood over something so minuscule. But thank God for the little reminder in those personalized tags, that even when I’m moody and cranky, He tells me not to worry, to be strong, don’t lose hope, don’t get off track. You’ll get where you’re going, you’ll succeed.

And one more thing before I leave you……Don’t be like my friend from earlier. Don’t listen to Backstreet Boys. You know NSYNC was way better. 😉

Bye Bye Bye,

Rach

 

Leave a Reply

