Rome Wasn’t Built In A Day

Standard

How poor are they that have not patience! What wound did ever heal but by degrees? ~William Shakespear

It’s hard to be patient in a world that knows instant mashed potatoes and drive through restaurants. Most everything is easily accessible and at our finger tips. I saw something the other day that made me laugh. It said, “Students these days need to show a great deal of respect for their parents and grandparents because they didn’t have Google and Wikipedia to get them through school.” It’s true. I vaguely remember being in 7th or 8th grade and actually using an encyclopedia or dictionary that was in paper form. We live in such an instant gratification kind of society. I google stuff almost every day ON MY PHONE. Yesterday I was with a friend and a song came on and she asked me who sang the song. I had no idea so I did what the majority of Americans do these days. I pulled out my phone, opened up the Shazam app and within 10 seconds, I knew everything I needed to know about that song and who sang it. Ten seconds. I’ll be the first to admit that when I’m microwaving something, I rarely let it go all the way. I stop it at 15 seconds or so because I’m sick of waiting. And what are the results?? My food isn’t as warm as it would’ve been had I waited 15 more seconds. Don’t be like me.

We’ve all heard the phrase Rome wasn’t built in a day. As a matter of fact, Rome was founded around 750 BC. It did not become “Rome” as we imagine it — one of the most important and powerful cities in world history– until about 250 BC. So about 500 years, give or take. Dear God, please don’t make me wait 500 years. 

Patience is a virtue. Honestly, I’m sick of hearing that but I’ll admit it. It’s true.
Far better to wait till the entire situation becomes clear in your mind before taking any action. That way you are more likely to take the correct action, and that is a virtue (a good thing). It’s so easy to get ahead of ourselves and when we do this, our end results pail in comparison to what they could have potentially been. That right there is the one thing that is keeping me from losing my mind. It’s taken some time for me to realize this, that if I will indeed be a patient person, greater things than what my finite mind can grasp really do lie ahead of me. I want to wake up tomorrow and have abs of steel. But in order for this to happen, there are steps that I have to take. There are sacrifices that have to be made and it’s a process. Sure, I will see results along the way, some large, some small, but in the end, after all my hard work has paid off, how happy will I be knowing that I did it?!?!? I never thought that I’d be saying that it has been 21 days since I had a Coke Zero or any soda at all!! But each day when it’s a little bit easier to say no to my cravings, I realize that I am, in fact, making progress.
 
I ain’t one to brag, but seriously, people, I’m proud of myself. Someone told me that even the little steps lead to great accomplishments. A lot of times, people throw in the towel because the progress has been so slow. They fail to recognize that slow progress is still progress. So I may not have the most patience in the world, but I’m working on it. And it’s taking a lot of people being patient with me, as well, and for that, I am grateful.
 
Headed To the Ab Lounger,
Rach
 
Leave a Reply

