Live Like You Are Dying.

Standard

What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

My uncle Roger is writing a book that shares how he met my aunt Roxanne and takes you through their journey, even up until she took her last breath. I’m proud of him because I know it’s hard for him to write some of the things down, but putting it on paper can also be very healing. My uncle keeps a journal and he writes every single day. This has made the process of writing the book a bit easier because there are many details that he would’ve forgotten had he not kept a journal. If you asked him what he was doing on July 19 of last year, he could refer back to his journal and tell you exactly. As a matter of fact, when I went to visit him last week, he pulled one of his old journals out and read to me what he and my aunt had done that day. The journal that he was writing in during that particular time had different questions at the top of the page and on one of the days that he wrote, the question was something along the lines of “What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?” He read to me what he had written and over the last few days, I’ve asked myself that question several times. What would I do if I knew I couldn’t fail?

First of all, I’d open a restaurant. I’d cater to families that were struggling financially or to single mothers that were working multiple jobs and just didn’t have time to make a home made meal.  I’d ask local businesses for donations so that when these families came to me or when I delivered meals to them, it would be little or no cost to them at all.  That’s what I’d do first. Owning my own restaurant would be awesome. Secondly, if I didn’t have the fear of failure, I’d spend a few years living overseas. I think I would probably go back to West Africa or to Roxas City in the Philippines where I made so many friends. Or, I might even pick somewhere new. I’d love to teach while I was there. Third, I’d start playing the piano again. I know that might sound crazy to some of you, but playing the piano was always one of my favorite things to do and sometimes, I miss just sitting down and playing whatever came to my mind. There’s just something about getting lost in the music and creating my own melodies that always quieted my mind. When I was four years old I asked my mom to put me in piano lessons for my birthday and she did (thanks, Mom!!). Another thing I would do if I knew I could not fail would be to run a full marathon. I’ve done lots of 5ks but the thought of running 26 miles in one setting scares me to death. I barely run 26 miles in a week. Okay, that’s a lie. I DON’T run 26 miles in a week. If I ran a marathon, ya’ll better be prepared to pitch a tent at the finish line cause it’s gonna be a few days till I make it. There are several other things I can think of that I would probably do if I had no fear of failing. And you know what? Maybe one of these days I’ll be writing a blog from Dakar, the capital of Senegal in West Africa telling you about my teaching experiences there. Or maybe I’ll be writing from the kitchen counter of my new restaurant. I’d say I might be writing after I ran my first full marathon but please, they’ll be carrying me out on a stretcher if that day ever comes. The point is, we really should live as though we are dying. Don’t let the fear of the unknown and the fear of failure keep us from setting goals for ourselves and, not just setting them, but trying to attain them.

So, I leave you with this: what is the one thing, or things, that you would do if you knew you could not fail?

Over and Out,

Rach

5 responses »

  1. I really enjoyed this blog tonight. Good reading. Someone taught you to write well. 🙂 I love you with all of my heart. I know that you will fulfill your dreams if you will just believe in yourself like I believe in you. I will love you forever….as long as I’m living, my baby girk you will be.

  2. Okay Rachel, I just have to say I am loving your blogs!! You really have some interesting and teaching thoughts, I miss you terribly but I know we all have our things going on..Loving looking into your thoughts! Keep it up, Im loving it!
    Over and out!!!
    Holly

Leave a Reply

