Did I Just Become A Trekkie?

Standard

“Logic clearly dictates that the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.”~Spock

Never in my wildest dreams did I think or imagine that I would be quoting Spock from Star Trek. I must have taken too much melatonin last night and gotten up, unbeknownst to me, and stumbled around in the dark till I hit my head on the wall or something bizarre like that. This behavior is not normal. Star Trek? Really? I worry about myself sometimes (although, I HAVE been working on the little hand thing they do….you know where your pinky and ring finger connect and then your middle and pointer finger connect and you form a “V”…I’m getting pretty good. Impressive if I must say so myself.).

Anyway, Star Trek aside, I really love this quote. I’m not gonna lie. I had to read it a couple times before I understood what it meant (that’s probably a result of hitting my head as well), but then I was like, oh. I get it. There are far more people in this world that have needs than those that don’t. And especially in today’s society. The opportunity for us to help others is so great. I bet if you stopped right now and thought for a minute, you’d be able to think of an individual or even a family that is struggling financially or can’t find work. Maybe what they are in need of isn’t material things at all, though. Maybe you know someone that just needs a friend, or someone to listen. Being a person in need doesn’t have to mean you’re homeless and begging on the street corner. Every single one of us are in need of something…..a smile, a hug, a wink from across the room. Maybe you just need to hear someone say they are proud of you. Spock was right you guys. There are so many people out there in need. I think a lot of times we feel helpless because we can’t afford to give large monetary gifts and we forget that doing something as simple as helping an elderly person carry their groceries to the car can have just as much of an impact (or more) than a gift of money. I love the idea of paying for someone that is in line behind me at Starbucks or telling my waitress to bring me someone’s ticket so I can pay for their meal. Those small acts of kindness are what make the biggest difference in a world that is so full of need. I can honestly say there has never been a time in my life that I’ve helped someone out, whether they knew it was me or I did it anonymously, that I haven’t walked away feeling so good about life.

Today, find someone in need. It might be your cashier at Wal-Mart that looks like she needs a smile. It could be your waitress who has worked a double shift and still doesn’t know how she’s gonna make ends meet; give her a little extra cash when you leave a tip EVEN IF SHE WASN’T THE GREATEST WAITRESS—why? Because every person we meet is fighting some kind of battle. Every person we see is in need and you could be the person to make the difference in their life.

Live Long and Prosper,

Rach

Leave a Reply

